top of page

NEVER AGAIN - A SONNET

A poem about missing your special person by Sowmya Sri Rathnakumar.


Once, I was buried in the darkness created by my demons.

Unforeseen, you came to my salvation like a ray of light!!

You held out your hand and pulled me out harder.


Above the darkness and cold, there was light and beauty.

You raised a wall with its roots set deep in to the ground that made me strong.


I fought the demons with you on my side and I moved forward.

Along the fight, you left me in a blink; without you I was dreadful.


As the demons leapt down to my face, I took incautious steps backwards.

Now, I am falling into the darkness faster and deeper: I tried holding on to the roots of the wall, but none of it was strong enough.


Finally, I got a grasp to the root of hope: I hold onto it for too long but no sign of you.

The roots of hope slackened and it cut off.

The wall you raised collapsed by heaping the rocks over me.

I crashed hard at the bottom of darkness, where I belonged way back.


The rocks burdened me was painted with our memories. I couldn't move; I couldn't breathe.

I cried for help but no one heard me. I died of suffocation: I never found life in me again.

20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

कुम्हार का प्रेम !

Poem by: शालिनी आदिवासी देख कुमार ही प्रेम है कैसा, पूछे क्यों माटी तुझसे ऐसा. रोज हाथों से तू मुझे सराय, फिर क्यों मुझे कोई और ले जाए. घर-घर सबके रहमत हूं, फिर भी तेरी कह बत हूं. क्यों बेचे तू मुझको

bottom of page